Jquery library
Professional Development, University Extended Education, California State University, Fullerton
Clear Education Specialist Credential

Clear Education Specialist Credential

Our Clear Education Specialist Credential program is specifically designed to meet the ever-changing needs of California special education teachers and to align with required state standards. But just as important, it’s designed to be an efficient, effective way for dedicated educators to advance in their careers. There are two ways to obtain your Clear Credential Education Specialist at California State University, Fullerton.

Pathway #1: You can take your courses through CSUF’s University Extended Education. There’s no need to apply – simply register for the four required courses (see below), which are all available online. Once you complete the required four courses, you can apply for your Clear Education Specialist Credential through the Cal State Fullerton Credential Preparation Center. If you hold a Level I Credential, you will also need to take SPED 496 as your 5th class. If you hold a Preliminary Credential, you will only need to take 4 classes as listed below.

Pathway #2: For those seeking a master’s degree, it is advised that you complete your Clear Credential through the Department of Special Education since some of the Clear classes can be counted toward your master’s degree. You can learn more about this pathway on the College of Education's Special Education website.

Required Courses

These five courses are required for both pathways. Click on a course link for more information – including description, cost and dates – or to register.

  • SPED 532 (This is for Mild/Moderate Candidates only.)
  • Important note: If you hold a Moderate/Severe Credential, you will register through Open University for SPED 531. If you hold an Early Childhood Credential, you will register through Open University for SPED 535.
  • SPED 502
  • SPED 551
  • SPED 533 (This must be taken in your final semester.)
  • SPED 496 (If you hold a Level I Credential, you must also take this 5th course.)

Non-California Residents

Due to state and federal regulations, non-California residents may only enroll in CSUF online courses when their state has authorized CSUF as a provider. Click here for more information.