Fulbright Program

According to the Fulbright website, "the Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government, and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.” With this goal as a starting point, the Fulbright Program has provided almost 300,000 participants - chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential - with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by then-Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Approximately 310,000 “Fulbrighters” have participated in the Program since its inception in 1946. The Fulbright Program awards approximately 8,000 new grants annually. Currently, the Fulbright Program operates in over 155 countries worldwide. Comprehensive information about the Fulbright Scholar Program can be found on the Fulbright website.

Cal State Fullerton is home to a vibrant and diverse community of students and faculty. This community is enhanced by the participation of its members in the Fulbright program. Since 1980, forty Cal State Fullerton faculty members have been honored as Fulbright Scholars, traveling to countries as far away as Poland and as near as Mexico. In addition, each semester our university is enriched by Fulbright students and faculty from abroad who choose to study and teach at Cal State Fullerton through the Fulbright visiting scholar program. To view a list of our CSUF faculty who are Fulbright Scholars, please visit the Fulbright Scholar Directory. To view a list of CSUF student Fulbright Alumni, please visit the Fulbright Grantee Directory.